Bookish Pet Peeves

Books are a wonderful thing, however, sometimes I do run into some of my… bookish pet peeves. Here is a list of some of my pet peeves that I encounter while I am in the book universe.

Bookish Pet Peeve #6: Characters who die that do not deserve to die I always side with I always side with the authors decision on what they think is the best for their book, but in some instances certain characters should not die. The author usually has a pretty good reason for killing off a character and I trust their judgment. We all know one death that has not made sense, and once they are gone we have to cope with this, but sometimes it just isn’t fair!

I always side with the author’s decision on what they think is the best for their book. However, in some instances certain characters should not die. We all know one death that has not made sense, and once they are gone we have to cope with this, but sometimes it just isn’t fair!

Bookish Pet Peeve #5: Slow beginnings

Okay, so some books have painfully long beginnings. The author decides that there needs to be a 100 page introduction before getting to in any of the good stuff. I am talking about you House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne.  Although, at times a long introduction is necessary to establish the historical context of the book but other than that please do not drag on a series of boring descriptions the creepy, cursed house.

Bookish Pet Peeve #4: Teens with an existential crisis

This has got to be one of the most annoying things that I come across. I know most people cherish this author, but the best example of this is John Green. He is a magnificent writer and has a beautiful style, but his characters make me angry. I have read The Fault in our Stars  and I loved the story. I cried my eyes out, but I kind of disliked the characters.  Augustus is a portrayed as a very pretentious character. Some of the things he says I have to ask myself if he is being for real. The cigarette as a metaphor… come on.

Bookish Pet Peeve #3: Love triangles

Ahhh, the love triangle. This gives a complete unrealistic expectation of love and teaches impressionable teens that this is acceptable. Books such as Twilight and The Hunger Games portray the most annoying love triangles. Seriously you can not do this to these men. First of all, if you were willing to practically kill yourself because Edward left you, then why would you be cozying up and leading Jacob on?Depictions like this of love get me so fired up.

Bookish Pet Peeve #2: Book snobs

People who champion themselves for only reading and enjoying a select choice of works need to stop. I love “The Classics” but I do not deem them any more worthy than any other book. Authors new and old put their own unique touch to their books and can make them thought-provoking no matter when they were written.

Bookish Pet Peeve #1: E-books

I hate e-books. The saddest part about that statement is that I am an environmentalist, and I should be all about reducing the amount of paper I purchase. I just can’t get on the trend of e-books. It is not the same. I need a tangible book in my hand to hold and cherish like a puppy. Reading a book is an experience, and reading it on a tablet just isn’t for me.

Hope you enjoyed and read ya later!

Mads

Leave a Reply

