Confessions of a Shopaholic Part 3

IMG_4114

Hey, readers!

I have finished Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella, and it was “fab” to say the least. I will definitely make it my mission to read the other books from the series, however, my TBR (to be read) is piling up faster than the Pacific Ocean trash gyre.

Rebecca was a wonderful character and it was a hoot getting to know her throughout the book. She is just a girl who advises people on their finances, but she has no idea how to deal with her own. As she tries to be responsible her fears get in the way. Like most of us, she ignores the problem. I did get frustrated at times when I would see her run away from creditors and throw away her bills from credit card companies. However, she is really trying to be mature and face up to the mess that she made.

A character worth mentioning, of course, is the handsome Luke Brandon. In the book, he is described as arrogant, but I just see him as charming. Maybe I have a taste for cocky business men… Thanks, Mad Men. He has his eye on Rebecca and makes it fairly obvious from the beginning of the story. There is not much written about him in the book, but I loved the way he was written and I couldn’t help but swoon over his charm.

Overall the plot was engaging and lighthearted. The writing is fresh and witty. Sophie Kinsella writes about materialism in a way that most people in Western society can relate to. Many people do define themselves by the things they own. We can either let it get the best of us like Rebecca or start to realize that it is not what is important in life. I would recommend this to someone who wants a fun and easy summer read!

Read ya later,

Mads

Leave a Reply

