Five Things Wrap Up: The Book Thief

Book thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was an incredible read. This book has to be one of my all- time favorite books and has touched me on so many levels. Zusak is a magnificent writer who created a story that is so dynamic and meaningful. The concept of the death being the narrator is something I have never seen before. Moreover, the characters are described so well that I felt like I was living with them on Himmel Street.  Zusak has one of the best writing styles I have ever read. I adored every part of this novel. So, instead of commenting on certain aspects of the book that I loved I will tell you my five favorite quotes from The Book Thief.

  1. “Even death has a heart.” – Markus Zusak

So wonderful. This sentence is so simplistic, but it just packs so much into it. Not many people would think that death would have a heart, but right here death is saying that he does have compassion and actually pities us at times.

  1. “It kills me sometimes, how people die.” – Markus Zusak

This quote here is perfect. The irony of death saying it kills him to see how some people die is faultless. It is just a great line, and truly encapsulates death’s personality throughout the novel. Death has such a dark, dry sense of humor.

  1. “A small fact: You are going to die… Does this bother you?”– Markus Zusak

What a fantastic way to begin the book I must say. This sentence hits every person’s fear, our ultimate demise. The fact that death is challenging us by saying we are going to die makes it all the better. This line demanded my attention and kept it for the whole novel.

  1. “It was a Monday and they walked on a tightrope to the sun.”– Markus Zusak

This is just an example of how descriptive Zusak is, and his ability to create a masterpiece in your mind with his words. It is fantastic, and I wish I could be a master of words like him.

  1. “The words. Why did they have to exist? Without them, there wouldn’t be any of this. “– Markus Zusak

This line defines the whole novel, for it captures the importance of words. Words help bring joy and pain, and that is what they had done in The Book Thief. Liesel learned the power of words, as she was the “word shaker” who knew that the right words can change the world. The art of writing is so special to me, and Zusak has exceeded my expectations.

Read ya later!

Mads

Leave a Reply

