Five Things Wrap Up: Outlander

outlander

Hey, readers! I am here to review the very popular Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. It was absolutely stunning. I knew that this book was a romance novel, however, I was not aware of how romantic it actually was. The book follows Claire Randall who is celebrating her second honeymoon with her husband Frank in the Scottish Highlands. They were just reunited after six years of being involved in WWII, where Frank was in information and Claire was a nurse on the field. However, their honeymoon was interrupted when Claire touches a magic stone and is transported 200 years into the past. Here she meets the magnificent Jamie Fraser, and the rest is history. So, here is my Five Things Wrap Up!

  1. The writing is beautiful

Diana is a stunning writer. She has immaculate descriptions, and her storytelling is riveting. The beautiful Scottish Highlands are brought to my bedroom, and I am about ready to book a trip to Scotland. The parallels to both the present and the past in this world are perfectly done. For example, Claire mentions how decrepit the Castle of Leoch was only a day before she was thrust into the past. Moreover, this is a long book for sure, but Diana’s writing makes it incredibly enjoyable.

  1. Jamie Fraser

He is absolutely intoxicating. He was such a great character. He is strong, but he listens to Claire and values her input. He would do anything for her, and would even sacrifice his life and dignity. I really liked Jamie, and felt that his character developed quite nicely. We first see him as a naïve, cocky soldier, but then he transforms into a man with great responsibility. He is a wonderful male character, and did I mention he is devilishly charming and handsome?

  1. The romance

Woah!  I was not anticipating how graphic the sex scenes were in this book. When I was about fifty pages in I was raving about how great this book was to my mom, and I was telling her to pick it up and read it. Then I got about a couple hundred pages in, and I blush to think I told my mom to read this book. The sex scenes are definitely done tastefully, and they never dragged on. Moreover, they are not excoriatingly awkward, however, they do get a little blush worthy. Furthermore, the romance between Jamie and Claire is beautiful. The path their relationship takes is not as unrealistic as I thought! I won’t go on any further, but if you read it you know what I mean!

  1. Historical aspect

I thought Diana did a spectacular job with her research. The history was woven very subtly into the novel, and it never felt like a history lesson. There was historical truth behind the actions of the characters and this was done perfectly. I was surprised how historically accurate she was because I did not expect that much from a novel that was focused mostly on the romance element, so that was a nice surprise. Also, a comment on how some people find the relationship between Claire and Jamie as “abusive” for one particular scene in the novel. I find it very realistic to the time period. Women were seen as objects in the 1700s, and that Claire followed this archaic way of life was for survival. It was the way they lived in the 1700s, and it would not do the book or history justice if Gabaldon just pretended things like this didn’t happen to women. They were treated as children. So, if you find Claire a not strong character, you are mistaken she did what she did for survival, and she most certainly did not take any crap from anybody in this book.

  1. Claire

I really loved Claire. She was quite badass. She did her best to fit into the new world, and found her place as a nurse at the castle. She made the best out of her situation and did it with a wonderfully snarky attitude. She did not take orders from anyone, and was a strong woman despite the way women were treated in this time. She did her best to save as many lives as she could, and surprised me throughout the novel. She was not a damsel in distress, and was a great female character.

Read ya later!

Mads

7 thoughts on “Five Things Wrap Up: Outlander

Leave a Reply

